Division of Data Sciences Degree Programs Governance Committee

The Division of Data Sciences Degree Programs Governance Committee was formed in May 2018 to provide a faculty body to:

  • establish policy for the conduct of degree programs developed through the Division of Data Sciences in concert with other units on campus,

  • review and/or finalize initial requirements, course lists, qualification criteria, and evolution processes for approved degree programs,

  • consider changes to degree programs and faculty constituency,

  • approve student petitions,

  • define how specific committee responsibilities can be delegated to staff personnel, to faculty appointed in particular roles, or to subcommittees, and associated reporting,

  • provide oversight on agreements and understandings established with other units of campus in connection with the Data Science degree programs,

  • review annual reporting on composition and evolution of the degree programs,

  • communicate with campus on needs and opportunities of the degree programs,

  • advise the Dean of Data Sciences and departments on matters relating to resourcing, developing, or otherwise supporting the degree programs and students engaged with them.

The Governance Committee includes representatives from:

  • the faculty responsible for the Group Major (Academic Senate Reg. 810B), currently Statistics and EECS,

  • the Human Contexts and Ethics area,

  • the Domain Emphasis areas, and

  • members at large to provide balance and additional perspective.

Its composition is expected to evolve with the degree programs and as additional programs fall under its purview.  Initially it includes:

  • Dean of the Division of Data Sciences or delegate as DDSDP Chair,

  • Chair of Statistics or delegate, and another faculty member of the department,

  • Chair of EECS or delegate, and another faculty member of the department,

  • Two members representing Human Contexts and Ethics, and

  • Three members representing Domain Emphases or equivalent.

The initial task for the DDSDP is to finalize the specifics of Letters and Science BA in Data Science.  This task includes determination of various course lists that may benefit from changes relative to the approved major proposal, determination of the initial set of Domain Emphases, specification of criteria for declaration of the major, development of transitional mechanisms (such as for required courses taken P/NP), establishment of new Domain Emphasis proposal and approval processes, and establishment of petition/waiver processes.  Some of these functions may be delegated to subcommittee(s).

Committee Members:

David Culler (Chair), Division of Data Sciences

John DeNero, EECS Chair Delegate

Sandrine Dudoit, Statistics Chair Delegate

Rasmus Nielsen, Statistics

Joe Hellerstein, EECS

Carl Boettiger, Environmental Science, Policy and Management (Domain Emphasis)

David Harding , Sociology (Domain Emphasis)

Cathryn Carson, History (Human Contexts and Ethics)

Nasser Zakariya, Rhetoric (Human Contexts and Ethics)